“It could be worse” is a phrase that is often said to families when hearing of a diabetes diagnosis.

Sometimes it is used because the speaker is unsure of what to say.

Sometimes it is the result of media only education.

Perhaps because even if the intent is not there, it comes across as diminishing the battle you’ve just been handed.

Normally, this phrase makes me cringe.

But not today.

Today I nod in agreement that it most certainly ‘could be worse.’

Today a friend lost her husband after a long courageous battle of kidney cancer.

And my heart is broken today for her and her young daughters.

The diabetes community excels at its online social network.

My friend and her husband were instrumental in doing the same for Kidney Cancer.

They courageously shared their journey on their blog and shared themselves with the world.

They did so with a written talent that I wish I could replicate.

Humor is interlaced throughout it all, even surrounding the (dry) medical explanations.

But even more important, for me at least, is the demonstration of obvious love and dedication to each other.

In sickness and in health, they defined that promise to me.

Even today they are thinking of others. Instead of flowers, they are asking for donations to be made to benefit Kidney Cancer Research.

If you are so inclined, you can designate Dr. Hans Hammer in Memory of Chris Battle.

In hopes that no other family will be mourning the loss of their spouse, parent, sibling to the ravage evil beast that is cancer.

I am so thankful they shared their journey with me. I wished and hoped the story would turn out any other way. And I hope that the Johns Hopkins Kimmel Cancer Center is flooded with donations beyond their wildest dreams. And I hope so much that it leads to a cure. I just wish it could have come sooner.

Yes, it most definitely could be worse.

