Click the image for more information about Diabetes Blog Week or to join.

Friday: Just like in the movie, today we’re doing a swap. If you could switch chronic diseases, which one would you choose to deal with instead of diabetes? And while we’re considering other chronic conditions, do you think your participation in the DOC has affected how you treat friends and acquaintances with other medical conditions?

If you could switch chronic diseases, which one would you choose to deal with instead of diabetes?

The initial thought that comes to my head is NONE, THEY ALL SUCK! But I guess that wouldn’t be in the spirit of Blog Week. In all honesty, I don’t know a lot about other chronic diseases. A little of this and a little of that, but nothing like the knowledge I have about diabetes. I’m not going to name a chronic disease that I’d rather switch to, to me that seems like I’d be saying that they have it easier than people who live with diabetes do. That would seem a little unkind to me. But I will say that if there is one that only involves remembering to pop a little pill once or twice a day and then forget about it until the next dose, please sign me up.

And while we’re considering other chronic conditions, do you think your participation in the DOC has affected how you treat friends and acquaintances with other medical conditions?

No, absolutely not. One does not need to live with a chronic condition in order to have compassion for or give respect to others living with medical conditions. I will say, though, that perhaps I do have better empathy, even as a caregiver, of the emotional and physical tolls that it can take on a person.

